Complicated Maths Book Pages & Matric Dance

My camera said 'battery exhausted' when I went to turn it on to take a picture of my complicated page, so this is not my maths book. Oh well.
My camera said ‘battery exhausted’ when I went to turn it on to take a picture of my complicated page, so this is not my maths book. Oh well.

It’s a funny thing, growing up.

Everyone’s attitude towards you changes. People take you more seriously.

I know I’ve said this before, but inside, I still feel like a Yr 7. I still like to study for exams by teaching my teddies on my whiteboard. My favourite food is still rice-krispie treats. I’m still 1.65m.

The other day, I was in maths with my friend, Rachelle, and suddenly she leaned back in her chair and said, “Whoa. My page looks so complicated.”  When I was in primary school, I used to look over Allanah’s shoulder at her maths book and think how cool it was that she could do maths with letters.

Now I’m the one doing maths with letters.

I realise that I definitely overrated the ‘coolness’.

The strangest thing about growing up? Noticing that people around you are growing up.

My Brescia friends had their Matric Dance last week. Seeing them all in their dresses was a shock. In my head, they are all still little Grade Sevens, who stepped out of the way of the ‘big girls’ and got caught up in the pettiest of fights.

It’s weird to think that now I’m one of the big girls.

Maeve

xx

Leave a Reply

