The Great Tea-Tasting // White Peach

Today I documented my first tasting of a tea other than English Breakfast.

I sat outside, I read my book (The Book Thief by Markus Zusack), I ate my grapes and I enjoyed the sunshine for a good half an hour.

(After which, I had to stand underneath the air vent in my room to cool down. But that’s beside the point.)

Without further ado, I present to you my critique of the tea “White Peach“.

DSCN1602

As soon as I opened the packet, a really strong, delicious smell hit me. It smelt exactly like peach ice-tea, which I love, so I thought to myself, “we’re off a good start.”

Ready and waiting to brew
Ready and waiting to brew

The packet said that since this was a black tea I needed to let it brew for 3-5 minutes.

DSCN1606

I took my first sip and it tasted exactly like diluted peach ice-tea, which I’ve got to admit I’m not really a fan of. But I persevered. And decided to let it brew for another 2 (or 5) minutes.

Um, yeah. Don’t do that. It tasted like bitter, diluted ice-tea. But I still persevered. I decided to add half a teaspoon of honey to the mix.

And it actually tasted okay. I think the honey brought out a bit of the sweet peaches I’d smelt when I first opened the packet.

Overall verdict: To each tea I taste, I’m going  to give a score out of five using this little guy:

DSCN1608
aka: the cutest tea-strainer ever (his name is Justin)

 I’m giving White Peach tea …

DSCN1608 DSCN1608

2 Justin’s!

(Okay, okay, I take full responsibility for not letting it brew long enough in the first place and then over-brewing it and basically burning the tea-leaves. I’m still learning this whole tea-business. Clearly.)

This tea was pretty average, I was hoping for a strong flavour to match it’s amazing smell.  I don’t think I’ll be trading my English breakfast for it any time soon.

But never fear! There’s always next week.

I’ll be trying Strawberry’s and Champagne. I’m hoping it’ll go perfectly with the pretty-in-pink February issue of ‘Elle’ that’s just itching to be read.

Maeve

xx

One thought on “The Great Tea-Tasting // White Peach

Leave a Reply

