The Happiest 5k on the Planet

Yesterday I experienced something that I’ve been looking forward to for just over a year. In that time, I’ve watched numerous Facebook videos, stalked #happiest5ks on Instagram to see the photos from other cities and, in a move that made even my nerdiest self to shake her head in embarrassment, signed up just to make sure I wouldn’t miss the announcement of it’s arrival in Canberra. As you can probably tell, I was just a tad pumped for The Colour Run. And I’m glad to say it completely lived up to all the fuss.

[Image from The Colour Run Facebook page]
// Image from The Colour Run Australia Facebook Page //
Ready to go! [Image from The Colour Run Australia Facebook page]
Ready to go! // Image from The Colour Run Australia Facebook Page //
The weather could not have been more perfect: cool and overcast with just a slight breeze to keep you from working up too much of a sweat while running or walking the 5 kilometres. But I think what really made this race special were the volunteers. Their excitement and never ending supply of high fives kept everyone moving and cheerful. At each kilometre mark was a different colour station: yellow, blue, orange and pink.

Four happy girls
Four happy sisters

Something The Colour Run taught me – If covering someone in coloured dust isn’t enough to make them smile, letting them walk through a cloud of bubbles will definitely seal the deal. I don’t think I saw one person without a huge grin on their face after the surprise bubble station.

Bubbles!
Bubbles! // Image from The Colour Run Australia Facebook Page //
Crazy Kids
Crazy Kids

She didn't know we were all posing :)

Thank you Colour Run Australia! I had such a blast and can’t wait to do it all over again next year 🙂

Maeve

xx

Leave a Reply

