On being a nerd.


I am a nerd.

No, not the Jess Day type nerd, who’s mannerisms and encounters are funny and cute and endearing. I’m talking about the completely stereotypical, easily embarrassed, over-enthusiastic, socially awkward, nerd. That, right there, is me in a nutshell.

Don’t get me wrong, when I’m with my friends or family or people I am comfortable with, I am very talkative and opinionated and witty and sarcastic and all the things I’d love to come across as when I’m introduced to someone.

I’ve always tried (and failed) to be more confident, more natural when engaging in small-talk, less ‘fan-girly’ when I meet someone who’s read the same book/ seen the same film/ listened to the same music I have.

I can “geek-out” over anything and everything, from Disney to cats to waffles to weird and unbelievable facts that sound fake but are totally, 100%, real.

An example (and major side-note): I’ve been spending the past couple of nights looking at the Top Deck Europe pages, trying to find a tour that would be suitable for me and a friend who are travelling to England in September. I was sitting on the couch scrolling through my phone, and my family were all there watching TV and reading magazines and keeping themselves occupied when suddenly I saw something that made me really excited. Like, gasp-out-loud excited. Like, jump-off-the-couch-send-the-cat-flying-and-get-the-stink-eye-from-her-ever-since excited (Sorry again, Pussins). What had I seen, I hear you wonder, that caused me to have such a reaction? On this particular tour, the group stops in York for the afternoon, where you can head to the local pub and eat Yorkshire puddings. Eating Yorkshire puddings. In York. Coolest. Thing. Ever. (Don’t even get me started on the next 10 minutes I spent with my dad – the original Bannister nerd – the two of us rattling off  different foods that I should eat while exploring Europe: a Cornish pasty in Cornwall. A Danish in Denmark. A Frankfurter in Frankfurt. Oh, you didn’t know? Nerdiness is most definitely a gene that can be passed through the generations.)

Anyway, for the longest time I’ve thought that being a nerd was a bad thing. Something that I should try and suppress for the benefit of the people around me. “Act cool” and whatnot.

Enter John Green, aka: author of one of my favourite novels (and soon to be released motion picture) The Fault in Our Stars, video-maker, funny-guy and twitter-king.

Last night, I stumbled upon this quote by the great John Green about us nerds:

SO, the next time (and there will be a next time) my nerdiness gets called out by someone because I know the translation of the Hogwarts motto, or make the face in the picture above, or memorize the itinerary of the Royal Tour of Australia so perfectly a stranger would think I was Kate’s lady-in-waiting, instead of making excuses (“Um, I mean, I just know that because … “), I’m going to simply say:

“You’re welcome.”

Maeve

xx

P.S.: If you liked this John Green quote, you should definitely read up on how he asked out his wife for the first time. You’re welcome. 🙂

One thought on “On being a nerd.

Leave a Reply

