Rediscovering a favourite

I’ve always loved reading short stories. I’m a pretty impatient person so I think it’s the instant gratification – you find out the ending of a short story in a quarter of the time than you do when reading a full novel. Don’t get me wrong, I love novels, but for the past couple of weeks I’ve been hooked on short stories, especially the ones by this guy:

Roald Dahl pictured waving a cigarette in conversation at home
You tell ’em, Roald

When I was younger, my second-favourite author (second only to Megan McDonald, the author of the fabulous Judy Moody series, but let’s not get into that right now) was Roald Dahl. I loved his books and spent many an afternoon completely lost in the world of Dahl.

That’s why you can imagine my absolute delight when my dad gave me  this book and I realised that Roald Dahl is not just for children, as I previously believed, and that as an, dare I say it, adult, I can enjoy his stories just as much as I did 10 years ago.

IMG_0424

So far, my favourite stories in this collection have been TasteLamb to the Slaughter, and Man from the South. If you’re for looking for something new to read, I would definitely recommend Someone Like You, especially if you loved Roald Dahl when you were little – his short stories certainly deliver on the wacky and creative front!

I’m on a serious short-story high, any recommendations of new authors for me to try? 

Maeve

xx

One thought on “Rediscovering a favourite

Leave a Reply

