Dry Skin Saviours

I am really, really susceptible to skin dryness. Usually, I can keep it under control by whipping out the ‘ole skin towel and giving a good scrub. But this year my skin really wasn’t having any of it and I felt that the towel (normally my saving grace) was actually making my skin worse, not better.

A bit of back story: I used to work at a swimming pool and all that chlorine really didn’t do me any favours. I think my skin didn’t ever have a proper chance to recover. On top of that, the weather this year has been particularly moisture-sucking.

It got to the point when putting anything on my face, be it moisturizer, BB Cream, or even a cleanser, burnt. Ugh. I realised that I had to really step up my game if I didn’t want to be a scaly mess.

Enter the following four products:

IMG_0495

I’ve been using them for the past two months and my skin has done a complete 180.  Let’s take a closer look:

hair

IMG_0522

So, considering I have very little hair on my head at the moment, this conditioner has seriously impressed me. I know that most hairdressers recommend conditioning from mid way down your head and the ends of your hair, because that is where most of the damage is, but for me this conditioner has been the exception to that rule.  This stuff is the definition of nourishing – the perfect combatant to dry scalp.

IMG_0516

Confession time: I am possibly the laziest person on the planet when it comes to moisturising my legs and arms. I always intend to whip out the body butter as soon as I step out of the shower but 9 times out of 10 that really doesn’t happen. Which is why I love this skin conditioner by Nivea. You put it on in the showerYou wash it off in the shower. You step out of the shower and your skin feels like soft cloud pillows. Within a week I noticed a massive improvement in the skin on my arms and legs. Plus it smells ah-ma-zing.

faceMorning //

IMG_0520I am a big fan of Aveeno products. They are gentle on sensitive skin and are made of natural ingredients. Two thumbs up. I’ve been using  this moisturiser for the past three years and put it on in the morning after I’ve washed my face. I like it because it doesn’t feel like it’s clogging up my skin like some other products that I’ve used before. My favourite part about this product is the SPF in it – very important for us pale-skinned peeps. Just be careful not to get it in your eyes, it really really burns. Trust  me, I’ve learnt this the hard way.

Evening // 

IMG_0518Up until very recently, I’ve stayed away from Garnier products because I’d heard that they can be quite harsh on sensitive skin. But at the beginning of April, my face was the texture of sand-paper and felt so, so tight and just all-round uncomfortable. It seemed like nothing was working and so when I saw this little bottle on special at my local Coles, I decided to give it a go. The Garnier Moisture Match range is relatively new and specifically tailored to sensitive skin. The first time I put it on, I could literally feel the moisture coming back into my skin, but didn’t feel greasy or sticky. I put it on before bed so that it had the whole night to work it’s magic. And work it’s magic it certainly did. In the morning, my skin felt smooth and soft and this product is now a regular part of my nighttime skincare routine. I am officially a Garnier convert.

And there you have it! A (much longer than intended) blog post about something that I didn’t even realise was so detailed until I sat down and wrote it. Thanks Garnier, Aveeno, Tresemme and Nivea for helping me keep my skin moisturised and itch-free this winter.

Love, Maeve4

 

 

Leave a Reply

