Home

Last Wednesday, I arrived back in Canberra after spending two months exploring the UK and Europe. Altogether, I visited thirteen countries and was lucky enough to stay in some of the major capital cities in the world. I went bike riding in Amsterdam, ate gelato in Florence, partied at a five story night club in Prague, climbed the Eiffel tower in Paris and basically, had the best time. Ever.

IMG_1847IMG_1922 IMG_1932 IMG_2186Bikesphoto 5 (18) Prague Eiffel Tower

There’s a quote by Terry Pratchett that I (coincidentally) saw the day after I got home: “Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colours. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.”

Here are some of the things about Canberra that I see differently now – and realised that I really missed while I was away!

  1. The weather: The last three weeks of my trip were spent in England and Ireland where it seemed to be raining all the time. I can’t tell you how good it felt to arrive back in Canberra to a beautiful sunny day – summer is here!
  2. The traffic (or lack thereof): I have never been more appreciative of Canberra roads as I was when sitting on a bus trying to navigate its way around really very thin roads. 
  3. The prettiness: Driving home from the city I realised that as far as capital cities go, Canberra is definitely right up there as one of the prettiest, something I took for granted before going away.

Since coming back, I definitely have a new perspective on Canberra. It wasn’t that I didn’t like living here before I went away, but inevitably when you travel, you find yourself comparing the places that you’re in to the place that you’re from. I went to some of the biggest and most famous cities in Europe, and they were completely different to anything I had experienced before, and it was thrilling to get to explore them.

But, none of them were home.

One thought on “Home

Leave a Reply

