On kitchens and strangers*

*who soon become actually really good friends who you go on road trips and celebrate birthdays and drink tea with.

When deciding where to go on exchange, I knew I wanted to go somewhere that I could have the ‘student living experience’ which I feel like I miss out on when I’m in Canberra. Living at home is great, and I really don’t think I’d have liked doing my whole degree away from home, but there was always a feeling of wanting to experience what it would be like living in student accommodation.

Enter: Lappkärrsberget.

img_6083

Or as everyone who isn’t Swedish and can’t pronounce the name correctly/at all calls it: Lappis.

I love it here. It’s a ten minute walk into the main campus and has super easy access to public transport. We are basically in the middle of a botanical garden so there are loads of pretty walks to do, particularly along the waterfront. “Lappis Beach” which is really more of a lake with a bit of sand and some barbeques was where we spent pretty much every night the first two weeks we were in Stockholm.

I live in a corridor with about 12 other people. Everyone has their own room and bathroom, and we share a kitchen. I really wanted to make an effort to meet and get to know the people in my corridor. I didn’t want to be that person that only says hello as we’re both entering and leaving our apartments. Luckily the people I live with are pretty awesome. We’re from all over the world: India, Australia, Sweden, Spain, France, Greece, Italy, to name a few. Between us the average number of languages spoken is probably three (but that’s only because I single-handedly bring down the average quite dramatically by only being able to speak one language).

img_6396
Photo from when a few of us went on a road trip to Fjällbacka

We’re a bit of a funny bunch but we all have a good time when we get together. My favourite thing about living in this corridor was that there is always someone around to talk/ joke/ cook with. I’ll be honest, my kitchen isn’t the cleanest, or the newest. The chairs at the dining table are mis-matched and there is quite a bit of clutter from people who used to live here. The power often goes out and one of the ovens works I’d say 50% of the time. But I have a cupboard with my name on it and we all leave little notes/jokes on post-its for each other. I also share a fridge with my neighbour who often lets me use his milk because I always seem to be running out (#teadrinker).

img_8022

With everyone still away on Christmas break, the corridor feels quite empty to be in. I’m not looking forward to having to say goodbye to everyone in ten days, but I know that if I’m ever in Europe again I can visit any one of these guys and they’d be happy to show me around their home towns. And I’d be the same for them.

Leave a Reply

